What God’s Been Teaching Us

   We call it “chasing away the snake,” and it’s the most important thing that I do.  Prayer has been an increasing practice in our family.  That may sound obvious since all believers are commanded to “pray continually” (1 Thes 5:17) and invited to “cast all your anxiety on Him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7). However, it has always been hard for me (Jeff) to take time away from what seems like practical activity that leads to a predictable, strategic result.  Prayer has always seemed so intangible, but I am convinced that it is the most important thing we do in life.  As a husband and father, I am learning more about my specific role in prayer for our family.

As we have fellowshipped with many pastors and leaders from churches all over the country, praying together has been important.  But among them I have heard over and over again my personal responsibility to be the spiritual head of my house (Eph 5:23).  I must own my responsibility to cover my family in prayer regularly.

We have an enemy attacking our family unit.  He attacks individuals in that family and drives wedges between us.  He works in big, obvious attacks and slow, patient drifting.  With God’s help, I will not be idle or oblivious on my watch as Adam was.  Through continuous prayer I will chase away the snake and draw us near to God (James 4:6-8).  Please join me!  Here’s a devotional for a Praying Husband.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.